Girl’s ice hockey is far from being sleepless in Seattle.  Just ask the Seattle Junior Lady Admirals.  The National Girls Hockey League is proud to announce its newest member in the Seattle Junior Lady Admirals for the 2020-2021 Season!

The Seattle Junior Hockey Association is a coed club founded in 1974. The association began hosting all-girl teams in the mid-1990’s.  The program has been home to a number of accomplished female hockey players, including:

  • Kelly Stephens – 2006 USA Olympic Bronze Medal Winner and Gopher Grad
  • Brooke Whitney – 2002 Patty Kazmaier Award Winner and Northeastern Alum
  • Molly Doner  – 2011 National Champion at University of Wisconsin
  • Lexi Bender – Current Professional with Boston Pride and Boston College Grad

The amount of registered USA girl hockey players has tripled in the state of Washington over the last 4 years.  With the coming of the newest NHL franchise, the number of girls in the region is expected to triple in size again.  Seattle Junior is working closely with the new NHL Seattle franchise to provide opportunities for girls to play hockey and just recently hosted a try hockey for free in collaboration with the NHL Seattle organization.

In addition, to growing the game for the girls, Seattle Junior will be the host of the Pacific Districts female divisions including teams from California, Oregon, Washington, and Alaska this year and Seattle Junior has been host to both an all-girls Veterans Day tournament and Washington State Female District camp.

The Lady Admirals play local coed teams for league play and participate in a number of all-girls tournaments during the season.  The NGHL will allow the Lady Admirals to play on a national stage with some of the best teams in the country while still having time to play league games locally.

“Seattle Junior is excited to join the NGHL league.  We are committed to the growth of girls hockey and giving our girls the opportunities to play nationally that we believe the NGHL will provide.” – Nick Fouts, Seattle Junior Athletic Director.